Hangman for the Commander X16

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
Voyager_sput

Hangman for the Commander X16

Post by Voyager_sput » Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:16 pm

Hello everyone!

I thought it would be a fun project to learn 6502 assembly by taking a BASIC program from an old computer book and rewrite the BASIC code line by line in assembler. I'm amazing how much BASIC does for you, even the simplest of functions require some creative thinking to get working in assembler.

I'm not the most creative of people, but it was a great way for me to learn about 8-bit and 16-bit logic. From how to print lines of text on screen, capture user input or how to deal with line and character control (and quirks of the Commander X16 emulator). Trying to add a few small features like a blinking cursor was good fun!

Hangman may not be the most interesting game to play, but i'm curious to hear what you all think about this little project. I've included the files you need to assemble and run it yourself (or just run the binary in the Emulator).