ZX-ECUTOR for the SAM Coupe

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
Quazar

ZX-ECUTOR for the SAM Coupe

Post by Quazar » Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:29 am

Hi!

This is the most recent piece of Z80 assembly programming I've done in a couple of years, for a project that combines both hardware and software - to make an interface on the SAM Coupe that let's it run ZX ROM Cartridges that were produced way back in 1983 for the ZX Spectrum.

The ROM Cartridges were an ill-fated idea by Sinclair Research, with only 10 commercial titles produced on cartridge in 1983. An extra interface was required for your ZX Spectrum to use it and although the port was added to 4 (I think) different interfaces from several companies it really did not take off, however the cartridges are a bit of a curiosity which is why I wanted to add support to the SAM.

What my code does is display a splash screen so you can select how to run the ROM cartridge - either directly, where the SAM will access it as uncontended memory at it's full 6MHz speed, or copy the cartridge to RAM and run it from there (as we're in the ZX Spectrum screen mode - MODE 1 - there's extra contention automatically added to slow the Z80 down closer to the speed of a ZX Spectrum, it works out about 3.8MHz).