Re-living my boyhood dream :)

Say Hello... tell us your what you know, and what you're interested in learning!
Forum rules
Please say hello... tell us what systems & CPU's you can program, and what you're interested in learning!
matibee

Re-living my boyhood dream :)

Post by matibee » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:40 am

Hi all,

I got my Atari800XL aged 13 and we were together for 12+ years.. the Amiga came and the Atari stayed, the PC came and the Amiga went but the Atari stayed... but eventually, the kids came and everything went 8-)

I've been a wanna-be game developer from day 1 and I did get as far as asm on the 800XL using the assembler editor cartridge. My only full asm game was a centipede clone but I did write a lot of DLI's and call-from-basic asm routines. One such was pixel plotting narrow (4-bit wide) characters onto a mode 8 graphics screen to simulate 80 column text. I had that published as an article in New Atari User as well as, in the next edition, a disk sector editor that made use of the display size. It's not too much to shout home about for lots of reasons; 1) it wasn't original. 80 Column text had been done before in the original Atari User (but this was entirely my own effort) 2) The magazine was circling the pan by those days (1992) and I think it would publish anything. 3) I'm pretty sure the asm would have been horrendous and if anyone wishes to convert it back to opcode, I'll gladly pay you not to! 4) The mag didn't pay for the submissions as promised. 5) The disk sector editor was credited to a staff writer!

(Gotta love the internet archive!)
https://archive.org/details/New_Atari_U ... 3/mode/2up
(Gotta hate those darn staff writers! Even if I'm still mentioned in the screen shot and program listing.)
https://archive.org/details/New_Atari_U ... 1/mode/2up