Final Fight CPC (VERY early demo video)

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
Kitsune Mifune

Final Fight CPC (VERY early demo video)

Post by Kitsune Mifune » Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:21 pm

There's really not much to see, and it's incredibly messy (and wasteful of memory), but I thought I'd better post something at least. I've added some annotations to the video to very basically summarise what's going on (or still to be implemented) in the code.

I realise things are going to get a LOT slower later down the line, but I'm prepared for that.

Anyway, cheers! :)

Extra info:
- Uses cursor keys and "A" - Spin move", "S" - Punch", and "D" - Jumpkick, for the moves.
- Attack moves take priority over walking movement when pushed.
- A "Disable Keypress" function is implemented to let attack animations run their course before a key press is read again.
- Screens have their own palettes which is read via comparisons from a function ( I think it's sort of a look up table, but probably not).
- No screen boundaries set just yet, but I think I know how to do that.
- No X-Flipping/Sprite mirroring implemented yet.

Programming: 90% failures, 10% victories, and 100% hair loss!

akuyou

Re: Final Fight CPC (VERY early demo video)

Post by akuyou » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:08 pm