Lynx Quest. A game for Atari Lynx

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
laoong

Lynx Quest. A game for Atari Lynx

Post by laoong » Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:00 pm

Hi!

There are extraordinary things done here, so me and my friend have decided to premiere here the source codes of our winning entry to Atari Gamer Programming Competition!

Here's the link to the whole package.

It consists of full source codes for Atari Lynx (written in pure 65c02 assembly) with all assets and Windows tools. Running compile.bat should build the game and run Handy emulator.

Besides sources the main component of the game is our custom build tool LNGS. It is something like linker and resource manager. It's configured from XML file. If you look at the Project.xml file you will see, that it defines:
  • the cartridge image properies,
  • code of loader and game core components,
  • images to be used as sprites,
  • music modules in source form (compiled from tracker format to lyxass assembly file),
  • list of stages of the game consisting of code and assets.