Atari 6502 software sprites

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
matibee

Atari 6502 software sprites

Post by matibee » Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:18 pm

Hey all,

I just wanted to let you know that I'm tinkering away at my background code and tools for a new game project and the first stage is almost done -- a 'software sprite' system.

(Sorry I couldn't figure out how to embed the gif...)
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17HEjsb ... sp=sharing

Believe it or not, there's a lot going on in that little gif;
  • Character based sprites
  • Double buffered display
  • Page flipping and screen clearing during the VBI (edit - I forgot to mention what a challenge this was..) The display is currently 40 columns x 20 rows and there isn't time in the vertical blank period to simply set 800 bytes to zero. So for every line I keep a 'screen clear byte' which tells me which column of 8 characters in that line needs zeroing. When plotting a character it's trivial to divide its X position by 8 and EOR the result into the screen clear byte.
  • Sprite data can be pre-shifted right to allow per-pixel screen position (rather than moving a whole character at a time)