Bank Switching Parallax on the NES

Made something in Assembly? Show it off, and tell us how it works...
Absolute beginners welcome... we want to see what you've done!
Forum rules
There is a special rule on this forum...
This forum is intended to offer equal amounts encouragement and constructive feedback...
Therefore, if you say 2 negative things about someones work, you must think of 2 or more equally positive things...

Eg: "Great first effort, the idea is absolutely fascinating... However I noticed a few bugs, and maybe the graphics could be improved..."

If you can't think of anything good to say, then don't say anything!

If we don't encourage newbie programmers they won't have the confidence and motivation to stick at it and become great programmers! *speaking from experience*
puppydrum64

Bank Switching Parallax on the NES

Post by puppydrum64 » Sun May 16, 2021 6:14 pm

So I had heard about a clever technique from Retro Game Mechanics Explained for creating the illusion of parallax scrolling (something the NES isn't capable of since it only has one background layer). This trick uses the Konami VRC6 chip's ability to switch CHR-ROM banks, but something similar was used in Battletoads. I'll explain how I did it below.

Each CHR file takes up 8 KB (8192 bytes) of data. In an NROM cartridge (the original Famicom/NES cartridges used in early black box games) you can only store 1 of these. So all your game's graphics had to fit in just 8 KB. Below is a picture of the latter half of Super Mario Bros.'s CHR file. Typically, the first 4 KB are used for sprites and the second four KB are used for background tiles. You decide which is which by setting bit 4 of CPU address $2000, aka PPU Control. On an NROM cartridge, there is no bank switching, so these graphics cannot be rearranged except by editing the CHR file which obviously cannot be done during gameplay.
parallax3.png
parallax3.png (9.74 KiB) Viewed 2198 times